Wycliffe CE Primary School


Saltaire Road, Shipley, BD18 3HZ | Tel: 01274 584779

Wycliffe CE Primary School Tree

Governors List

Role of the Governing Body

It is a legal requirement that every school should have a Governing Body which acts in the interests of current and future pupils and staff. School Governors are all unpaid volunteers who meet regularly (at least twice termly) to discuss and decide upon all aspects of school activities such as appointing staff, monitoring the budget, maintaining the premises and reviewing the curriculum. They work closely with the Headteacher, the staff, and parents of all the children, and they accept guidance from the LEA

Together with the Headteacher, the Governors are responsible for the overall educational and financial health of the school, and determine the aims and philosophies of the school, seeking their fulfilment through a partnership with staff and parents/carers. They are responsible for the policy documents that determine important aspects of the education of children at Wycliffe CE Primary School. These documents are appraised regularly and updated as necessary, and are available for inspection on request.

Day-to-day management of the school remains the responsibility of the Headteacher, and parents/carers are encouraged to share with members of the teaching staff any questions or concerns they may have. The Governors are confident that most issues can be addressed by the Headteacher; in situations where broader policy is an issue, however, a direct approach may be made to the Governors, either through the Chair of the Governing Body, or through the clerk to the governors.

Register of Interests – Governors 2015-16
Attendance List – Governors

Wycliffe Primary School GB – September 2016 – May 2017
GovernorAttendanceType of GovernorPositionStart DateEnd DateOther Schools at Which a GovernorBusiness Interests
Wendy Anderson7/7ParentChair from 22/2/1730/4/1412/6/17
Ken Hall3/3Co-optedChair to 17/2/171/4/15Resigned 17/2/17
Sian Hughes7/7Staff/Acting Head12/2/1512/6/17
Angus McNab6/7Co-opted19/5/1612/6/17
Jo Newman1/7HeadArea Briefing Rep1/1/201012/6/17
James Vasey3/3FoundationVice Chair21/7/15Resigned 27/2/17
Sian Young6/7ParentVice Chair1/11/1612/6/17
Angela Walmsley6/7Parent1/11/1612/6/17
Ann Weller0/1LA27/11/1223/11/16
Sian YoungParent
Wycliffe Primary School IEB – June 2017 – August 2017 (IEB = Interim Executive Board)
GovernorAttendanceType of GovernorPositionStart DateEnd DateOther Schools at Which a GovernorBusiness Interests
Eric Fairchild2/2IEBChair of Finance & Resources Committee12/6/1711/6/21Bankfoot Primary (Bradford LA), High Crags Academy (Bradford LA), Scholes Village Primary (Kirklees LA)Charity Trustee at Creative Communities (Artworks), Bradford
Kate Hopton2/2IEBMember of Policy & Curriculum Committee12/6/1711/6/21
Lloyd Mason-Edwards2/2IEBChair of Policy & Curriculum Committee12/6/1711/6/21Peel Park Primary School
Jackie Walters2/2IEBChair plus member of Finance & Resources Committee12/6/1711/6/21Newby Primary SchoolAs National Leader of Governance conduct external governing body reviews; Teamwork for Schools (son's business)
Sian Young2/2IEBMember of Policy & Curriculum Committee12/6/1711/6/21Associate Governor - Lilycroft Nursery School